May Flowers… How to transfer to spring fashion

As springtime seems to have finally arrived, it appeared to be appropriate to break out the first spring outfits. I love spring as a season, especially because it let’s me hope for warmer weather, dresses, driving with windows rolled down and leaving the jackets on the rack. Unfortunately springtime in Germany does not necessarily mean you will be blessed with endless sunshine and warmth. Instead you’ll be surprised by pouring rain and other leftovers of the winter season. To be honest, getting dressed can be quite challenging when you have to deal with such weather.

For me there are two main problems when it comes to spring fashion. A) I get cold super easily, so I can’t risk to wear spring / summer clothing when the weather hasn’t decided yet whether it’s going to do me a favour or put on the bad behavior. And B) even if the weather decided on staying nice, there would still be my pale winter skin which has not seen any tanning products so far. Therefore i can’t start wearing the shorter clothing items yet, until I get back into my tanning routine.

Anyways, I developed some strategies to get back into spring fashion.

1. Cardigans / Blazers: For me Cardigans and blazers are the perfect spring staple piece. As they’re available in any colours, I think they make a pretty good piece to tie any spring outfit together while keeping you nice and warm. I usually go with cardigans but for a more fancy look I like to opt for blazers, because they can dress up any outfit instantly. Also bold and bright blazers or cardigans work perfectly on their own to give a nice wash of colour.

2. Spring prints: Spring prints and patterns like flowers, plaid or polka dots work amazingly to create a spring look without going too far. As summer blouses or tops are still a bit chilly, i like to pair them with cardigans or blazers which repeat the colours of my tops, to look put together.

3. Pants: As I already mentioned, I’m still too pale / cold to wear short pants, skirts or dresses. That’s why I like to opt for simple long pants (mostly denim or chino) in my spring outfits. Pants are a great way to start creating your outfit and choosing the other pieces you’re going to wear from there on. When going with simple denim pants, there are a million options on how to style them. Especially brightly coloured pants make perfect spring pieces because they bring an instant fresh feel and are brilliant ways to get away from all the black and grey winter outfits.

4. Shoes: The thing I’m most excited for in spring would definetly be the shoes. Don’t get me wrong, I love winter shoes and all but spring and summer shoes are just way more fun. As I get cold super easily around my body, I need to dress pretty warm, but when it comes to my feet I can’t take it any longer and need to break out the summer shoes. Especially strappy heels and ballet flats are my go to pieces for spring, because with long pants they’re still warm enough and when removing winter shoes and putting those on, any outfit gets an instant spring makeover.

I hope my tips were a bit helpful and you have a great spring start!

3 thoughts on “May Flowers… How to transfer to spring fashion

Leave a Comment

