Speaking of… Mainstream ;)

Today I’m back with a more serious kind of topic. I don’t know if that’s really what you want to read here, and yes I confess that I originally started this blog to share my DIY projects but: I’m just a human being like anybody else and there are a lot of things going on in my mind, so at some point I just decided to make this not only a DIY / Fashion blog, more a DIY / Fashion / Personal / Lifestyle blog.

I hope you don’t mind that too much! šŸ™‚

So now that I’ve told you that, I’m gonna start with my actual topic for today.

As some of you may know, I am fine arts student, and therefore get confronted with art each and every day. Lately we’ve been talking a lot about reproductions of art in university, and I got really caught by that topic. We discussed aboiu whether it’s a good or negative thing to be able to reproduct artwork, and if yes, why.

I started to refer the topic on my life, and suddenly my head was FULL of thoughts and opinions and stuff I felt I just had to post here.

When it comes to fashion and lifestyle issues I often think about if it’s legitime to copy, or in other words, to reproduct. And you know what I think? Copying is not a bad thing to do at all!

There are so many beautiful girls out there in the world who I just feel so inspired by, and for myself I don’t feel bad at all when I’m ”copying” their style or anything. I feel more like giving anyone I copy a compliment, like I’d say ”Hey you, you’re seriously so damn beautiful and stylish – I wanna be like you, I’ll dress like you”.

So to everyone out there who now thinks ”Wow look at that mainstream girl”, you know what? Yeah I’m a freakin mainstream girl – No of course not.

I’m just an average girl, I see things, I like them, I buy them, I recreate them. And if that makes me swim with the mainstream (ugh, mainstream metaphores, seriously???) I’ll just swim on, because I like it.

Additionally to that I don’t think that there is such a thing like a mainstream. I think we are all individuals who just let ourseves be inspired by all the beautiful things we see each day. And the way we interpret the things we see, the way we put our inspiration into action, may somtimes put us in some kind of stereotype, in some kind of mainstream behavior, but we still are ourselves. With all our oddities nobody ever can and will take from us.

So when I see a girl out on a street with a freaking hat I like, damn I’ll be all like going out there and just buy that damn hat. Just like anybody else would. And just because I did it, I’m not uncreative or not able to think of a own style. I just like the hat. Nothing more or less šŸ˜‰

 

Have a great sunday everyone šŸ™‚Ā ā™„

 

Leave a Comment

